Underlight Discord Chat: http://discord.underlight.com/
Production Server: Online (Version 3.1.15)
Player Test Realm Server: Offline (Version 3.1.15)

Endgame content

This is a game for roleplayers. We want your ideas how how to build the better game. Post your suggestions here.
Gerroz
Dreamer

Endgame content

Post by Gerroz »

This came up in the thread about accelerating new players. Instead of letting it hijack the other thread lets make a new one, as was suggested by Eros.

Underlight has been going for what 16 years now? Many players hit 6th sphere during the first two years of the game. Since then, there's been extremely little endgame content added. Players who hit the higher spheres don't get much more to reach for in Underlight as it is today. Yes yes, roleplaying is the most important, we have all said it time and time again and we all agree. However advancement is there for a reason, and it should not basically halt around 5th/6th sphere.

Since I started playing right before the turn of the millenia, there's only been a handful of arts added to the game. To this date, Razorwind is the only art past 6th sphere. There's more than a handful of players past 6th sphere now and they need more arts to keep the ladder going.

There's no chakrams beyond level 50 either, which basically means that the power in battles has a steep curve up to orbit 50, and then it flattens out a lot. The nature of advancement should mean that the curve keeps climbing, and that someone a sphere higher than you, hits harder than you (if they have the items)

One of the things I loved about advancing early on in Underlight, was that some portals were closed to me. I had to advance in spheres to be able to see them. It was one of the things I was really looking forward to. After 3rd sphere, there's nothing new to see, except a library room maybe. We should have some more rooms or planes that's locked to a higher sphere, to add a feeling of accomplishment to the game.