Bandwidth Question

Please list bugs discovered here. BE AS SPECIFIC AS POSSIBLE IN DESCRIBING THE ERROR.
User avatar
Arnaya
WordSmith
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:25 am
Character Name(s): Arnaya

Bandwidth Question

Postby Arnaya » Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:07 pm

Does Underlight REALLY use more bandwidth than streaming video? Seriously, I keep getting booted from game for what amounts to "Not enough Bandwidth"... but I can stream video, load high graphics websites, etc etc without problem.
Some Days, I need Love. Some Days, I need Sex. Some Days I don't need Sh*t from anyone. Some Days I want to Save the World. Some Days I just want to watch it Burn. Some Days I feel so Alive, some Days I barely survive.
User avatar
Koi-Ajax
Dreamer
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Bandwidth Question

Postby Koi-Ajax » Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:05 pm

What makes you think it's bandwidth?

It's more likely you're having issues with the TCP connection dropping packets which will disconnect you. My guess without more information is that it would be related to you running the game in a Virtual Machine.
User avatar
Arnaya
WordSmith
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:25 am
Character Name(s): Arnaya

Re: Bandwidth Question

Postby Arnaya » Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:54 pm

I'm running straight off of the main system right now, not a Virtual Box. It's gotten Really bad, and the message I get is network communication... its been a bit better since I unchecked the TCP box in the launcher, but its still pretty bad.
Some Days, I need Love. Some Days, I need Sex. Some Days I don't need Sh*t from anyone. Some Days I want to Save the World. Some Days I just want to watch it Burn. Some Days I feel so Alive, some Days I barely survive.
User avatar
Koi-Ajax
Dreamer
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Bandwidth Question

Postby Koi-Ajax » Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:19 pm

The network error is pretty generic. What OS are you running? Do you play over WIFI? If so, can you try playing over ethernet to see if it improves?
User avatar
Arnaya
WordSmith
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:25 am
Character Name(s): Arnaya

Re: Bandwidth Question

Postby Arnaya » Sun Apr 30, 2017 11:14 pm

Running Windows 7, and my connection is WiFi... unfortunately Ethernet isn't an option (Shared internet). It doesn't seem to impact other on-line activity though. UL boots me, I can go right on and load a webcomic, or DeviantArt, or pretty much whatever without any real delay. I guess its not a big deal, it just gets really frustrating.
Some Days, I need Love. Some Days, I need Sex. Some Days I don't need Sh*t from anyone. Some Days I want to Save the World. Some Days I just want to watch it Burn. Some Days I feel so Alive, some Days I barely survive.
User avatar
Black Cloud
Dreamer
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 9:52 am

Re: Bandwidth Question

Postby Black Cloud » Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:28 am

Hmm.. I can't imagine that UL uses much bandwidth. If a 56k dial-up connection let you play as it was intended, I doubt that today's high-bandwidth connections have any problem running it for long periods. Also, while I was traveling, I had one of those pocket Wifi devices and I remember after playing the whole night, usage was minimal. I was actually surprised at how little bandwidth it used, but I don't have exact numbers. Maybe one of the Devs can enlighten us.
User avatar
Koi-Ajax
Dreamer
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Bandwidth Question

Postby Koi-Ajax » Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:36 pm

I touched on it in another thread but Underlight isn't Bandwidth heavy. It does, however, require a constant connection and is sensitive to network hiccups. Netflix doesn't have the same problems since it can buffer streaming by downloading ahead of what you're actually viewing. That means quick network interruptions won't bother a Netflix stream in the same way it would bother Underlight.
User avatar
Leolus
House of Calenture
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 4:21 am
Character Name(s): Restel

Re: Bandwidth Question

Postby Leolus » Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:42 am

Probably isn't very relevant now but upload channels getting clogged up could be an issue. Run a constant ping to google and if someone uploads something, IE Snapchat/facebook/etc, look to see what happens to your ping/packet loss. If you get a large uptick in ping or complete packet loss then whoever's uploading may be eating all the bandwidth for your upload channels. There are a few solutions to this. First make sure you're running a modem that's the latest version of docsis that your ISP will support. This is probably 3+ and if you're running a docsis 2 modem you're severely limited. Second is limiting device bandwidth. Your router may be able to limit each devices bandwidth to make sure one user isn't eating your entire pipe. Third you can check about upgrading your bandwidth. The problem is most ISPs sell you upload speed as a percentage of your download and you're likely not going to outrun the upload bottleneck unless you get into enterprise level service or a fiber symmetrical connection.
~Restel
~Bane

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest